[Bug: Discuss] Large GPX files (Missing cache)

Report a bug or error message

[Bug: Discuss] Large GPX files (Missing cache)

Beitragvon stigvi » Di 7. Apr 2015, 06:48

I have generated a gpx-file with GSAK and noticed that GC58F85 does not show up in the waypoint list, but it is indeed included in the gpx-file. Are there any obvious reasons why it dosn't show up?

http://download.heime.org/Missing_cache.gpx
stigvi
 
Beiträge: 21
Registriert: Di 20. Jan 2015, 10:58

Re: Missing cache

Beitragvon Cor Caroli » Fr 10. Apr 2015, 06:56

Hi
no problem for me to see this cache.
You can try:
disable "Geocaching live"
enable the way-points with the Cache
search for this GC
Display the found on the map and refresh the map.

You have a lot of way-points so m:geo could be slow to show all points.

regards
Christian
Cor Caroli
 
Beiträge: 63
Registriert: Do 17. Apr 2014, 10:15

Re: Missing cache

Beitragvon stigvi » Fr 10. Apr 2015, 09:53

When you search, you always search in the online data, don't you?

Try setting your phone in airplane mode and do a new search. If you can search in a downloaded waypoint list, I would be glad to learn how to do it.


Anyway, searching for it is not what I meant because you then have to know about it before you search. When you are in an unknown area and just looking at the map or in the waypoint list, it is difficult to recognize that one cache is missing.

And yes, you are right about that a large waypoint list makes Maaloo slow. 2500 caches seems to be the limit, but a handheld gps with less memory and a weaker processor is able to handle it just fine. I tried a gpx-file with 40000 caches for an area abroad, but maaloo took ages for it to show it in the list. I hoped I could do the travel without a computer and GSAK with me, but it seems not. :|
Maybe Garmin gps's are doing some sort of pre processing the gpx-file when it is first copied into the gps. I wish Maaloo could do something similar - process the xml-data and storing it in some sort of fast loading binary file.
stigvi
 
Beiträge: 21
Registriert: Di 20. Jan 2015, 10:58

Re: Missing cache

Beitragvon Cor Caroli » Mo 13. Apr 2015, 11:48

Hi,
yes i tried yor workaround and see the cache in the waypoint list and on the map (after a lot of seconds ;-)

Regards
Christian
Cor Caroli
 
Beiträge: 63
Registriert: Do 17. Apr 2014, 10:15

Re: Missing cache

Beitragvon olimic » Fr 18. Sep 2015, 10:29

Handling with GPX-files with more than 1000 caches/waypoints in one file.
Preprocessing the positions for the map.
How to show a list with 40000 items...?
- Sort by distance and show only in a range
- sort by name and show only letter A, B, C..
olimic
maaloo Developer
 
Beiträge: 527
Registriert: Sa 10. Nov 2012, 18:26
Wohnort: Dresden / Germany


Zurück zu Bugs / Errors

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast

cron